top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Fernandez

Making Money on Poshmark & Learning to play the Poshmark Game...

Updated: Dec 28, 2019

I have been using Poshmark since January 2018. To date, I have sold over 110 items and made just over $700.00 USD! This extra cash has been helpful, because I was in college, married, and working only part-time. I have heard many people say that Poshmark has not been a successful experience for them. I would encourage you not to give up on Poshing just yet. Like anything, Poshmark requires patience, practice, and persistence. Getting started on Poshmark is really easy so if you don't already have an account make one here today and use the code AMYM700 at sign up for a $5 credit after your first purchase! Update as of 12/4/19- the credit is now $10!!! 






10 Tips For Making a Profit on Posh:


1) You can sell ANYTHING on Posh. Trust me. I have sold some really random things. From deodorant, home decor, blankets, to makeup. I sell brand name items and off-brand items...it all eventually sells. I have noticed that the more things I have in my closet the more diverse traffic I get, which leads to more overall sales. 



2) Strive for earning the Posh Ambassador Status. It can take some time but it's worth it. After about 4 months I became an ambassador and now Poshmark sends me new users each day which has to lead to a huge increase in sales. 


3) Focus less on how your listings look and more on sharing listings from others. I don't have amazingly modeled photography or a fancy mannequin. While I do think those things can be very helpful for success what I have found to be more helpful is sharing as many listings as possible. When you share someone's listing they typically share some of your's back and the next thing you know your closet is all over the "Posh Market."


4) Devote 30 minutes a week to sharing listings! Sharing your listings and others is KEY.My tip... devote your 30 minutes on a Thursday or Friday evening or Saturday morning. Most pay-days are usually Thursday or Fridays and people are more willing to buy on these days! 


5) Be patient. I have had items sit in my Posh Closet for as little as 30 minutes to as long as 1 year. 




6)Ask your mom, dad, significant other, and even your grandma for clothes. I have probably sold more of my Mom's things than my own (she and I used our Posh earnings as petty cash while we were in NYC last year). 


7) Posh has you ship via USPS. So get free boxes and envelopes from The United States Postal Service various locations. In-store you can grab as many as you want for free. Online they will ship items in bundles of 10 for free. I use these Tyvek Envelopes!


8) As soon as someone likes one of your listings make them a personal offer. This is super easy to do and you can even offer a shipping discount. I find that offering $1.50 off shipping and discounting the item by at least 15% gets a potential buyer very interested. They will usually comment asking for more details, counter-offer, or accept. So don't just leave your likers hanging... sell to them! My tip... price drop your items often. All your likers will receive an email with the new price. This refreshes their minds of the potential item they loved.


9) Add free incentives. At the end of 2018, I had a ton of unused beauty samples that I didn't know what to do with. I started offering them as purchase incentives and my sales went crazy. As soon as someone would like my listing I would comment on the item and tag them stating that I was "Offering FREE beauty samples with every purchase from my closet this week!"


10)Let people know you ship your items fast! Tell people you can ship out later that day, or first thing the next morning (if you genuinely can). This adds a sense of urgency and tangibility to a potential purchase. 

Shop my Posh Closet here! Selling clothes online not your thing? Check out how to turn your clothes into cash by selling at Plato's Closet!

230 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page